Ancillary Mercy - Ann Leckie

Ancillary Mercy

By Ann Leckie

  • Release Date: 2015-10-06
  • Genre: Science Fiction
4.5 Score: 4.5 (From 210 Ratings)

Description

Breq and her crew must stand against an old and powerful enemy, the Lord of the Radch, and fight for the right to determine their own destinies in the stunning conclusion to the NYT bestselling Imperial Radch trilogy A must read for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin and James S. A. Corey.

For a moment, things seemed to be under control for Breq, the soldier who used to be a warship. Then a search of Athoek Station's slums turns up someone who shouldn't exist, and a messenger from the mysterious Presger empire arrives, as does Breq's enemy, the divided and quite possibly insane Anaander Mianaai -- ruler of an empire at war with itself.

Breq refuses to flee with her ship and crew, because that would leave the people of Athoek in terrible danger. The odds aren't good, but that's never stopped her before.

"There are few who write science fiction like Ann Leckie can. There are few who ever could." -- John Scalzi

Reviews

  • Couldn’t get enough of this trilogy

    5
    By SapphoSensei
    The characters are compelling and unique. The universe is complex, and deeply layered. A wonderful read from the first book to the last. Was sad to see the end of the trilogy
  • An interstellar version of the folktale motif “six go through the world”

    5
    By HRJones
    If Ancillary Justice was a fascinating tour in non-linear exposition, and Ancillary Sword felt like a cozy mystery set in the midst of a space opera, Ancillary Mercy struck me as an interstellar version of the folktale motif “six go through the world”. That is, a protagonist accumulates a set of unlikely and improbable allies simply due to treating those she encounters with honesty, empathy, and (if you will forgive the word) humanity, to find that those allies come through with a vengeance when the chips are down. And the essence of Breq’s success in gaining allies is the question "what counts as 'humanity?" Who deserves to be treated as having equal significance and whose consent is worth respecting? Issues of colonialism and class consciousness play out at multiple levels and there are additional mythic resonances to reward the observant reader. (For example, the motif of redemption through willing self-sacrifice.) If the resolution relies overmuch on the triumph of good will and virtue, I’m happy to see those things triumph on occasion at the moment. This was a very satisfying conclusion to the trilogy.
  • A complete throw-away

    5
    By Lamperti
    I'd advise against reading, to preserve your high opinion of Justice and Sword. Exhibits none of their strengths. Would never have been published, if not for the reputation established by its predecessors. Sloppy. Meandering. Grossly out of character. A terrible shame. I'm not giving up on Leckie, but this installment should not have happened.
  • Thrilling conclusion to a fantastic series

    5
    By tonystella
    Amazing third book in the wonderful Ancillary series. More action than the second book, builds to a very satisfactory ending.
  • A wonderful, even merciful, ending

    5
    By groksmith
    Loved the book, love the series. Leckie has written an emotionally satisfying end to her award winning trilogy about Breq, the single ancillary soldier who is all that survived the destruction of the AI ship named Justice of Toren.
  • Onion-layers of deep thought

    5
    By Xalseqsn
    Revelatory exposition explodes page after page revealing ever more profound ethical and moral conundrums facing all of humanity in n the not-to-distant future. Necessitates an immediate reread of the trilogy primed with newfound understanding.

Comments